Days of Grace

Driving

ist1_6155867-handing-the-keys1

Most 16 year olds going on 17 are anxious to start driving – a car that is :P (most of us at that age are already experts in driving our parents up the wall, so yeah this is about driving a car!).

17 is the legal age in Malaysia (for the benefit of a non-Malaysian reader) to start learning.  Well…some would have driven even before reaching their legal age!  That is no surprise.  Many a times with an adult by their side!  What I am highlighting here is real and taken quite lightly by some, be they adult or youth.  Most will argue…we are careful la, we go slow, I have my parent with me, …etc.  And forgetting that they aren’t the only drivers on the road…other drivers that aren’t careful, drivers that are impatient, drivers that are road bullies and the list goes on.

I have known of at least one incident of death on the road caused by an illegal youth driver accompanied by an adult at the passenger seat at time of accident.  What happened after that?  To settle legally,  we can guess the legal implications.  But if to settle illegally…what are we teaching the young?  However the case is settled, a life has been lost.  I would think it will be tough to live with that even if we are licensed drivers.

So that brings me back to, ‘why drive when you have no license or underage?’  even when accompanied by an adult.  As long as we have no license the law doesn’t protect us.  It really doesn’t hurt to wait to drive legally.

child-on-toy-car

P/s  a reminder to us who are drivers or riders with license…that whenever behind the wheels, we should drive responsibly and with courtesy! :)

13 January, 2009 - Posted by | Life, Thoughts |

8 Comments »

  1. wa cham lor like dat..u wont wanna try my driving skills…nyeh nyeh nyeh

    nancy said: Hahaha..why cham? It’s ok, I am quite tolerant of ‘P’ drivers :P

    Comment by michelle | 13 January, 2009 | Reply

  2. I say to them, you will have plenty of chance to drive when you’re an adult. Sometimes drive until you vomit blood, but still need to be stuck in the car because of traffic jam.

    nancy said: Yup yup…I said that often enough, but I guess they have to experience for themselves to feel the reality! :)

    Comment by Adino | 13 January, 2009 | Reply

  3. yes auntie Nancy, i hear u loud n clear…drive carefully! Does that mean i have to drive slower? ….your friend ‘Speedy Gonzales’

    nancy said: :) You know and I know that most of us need to drive slower la!

    Comment by blossomteoh | 13 January, 2009 | Reply

  4. u sure boh can tolerate??
    highway average 140….:P

    nancy said: Waaa…that is speeding already. Slow down and take care if you are driving up north ok?
    Have a very good long break! :)

    Comment by michelle | 13 January, 2009 | Reply

  5. Haihz…. I can relate to what Adino was saying , though I just started driving but the jam and traffic that I face when I coma back from school is nonsensical and crazy !! Not to mention tiring :-(
    Driving is fun for me, but not to the max where I would like to drive everywhere !! Haha just two weeks of driving to Klang and already have to learn to drive like a hustler and fierce a bit …hehe coz got bullied a little by other cars !! Of which I term , ” show -off ‘s ” Hahha coz they don’t have the huge P on their car, so they bully those who have that ‘ P ‘ . Haha

    nancy said: Sad to say, ‘P’ drivers do get ‘bullied’ to a certain extent.
    Hustler huh?…I heard of some hustler drivers around :P …I wonder who they are :D

    Comment by meiyen1990 | 14 January, 2009 | Reply

  6. Hahahahahhaa…Hmm I wonder who they are eh ?? Hehe I’m not pointing fingers…but erm wild guess, anyone ?? heehee

    Yeah sadly got bullied again today :-( but then again, as long as I’m careful and drive accordingly and correctly , I’ll be fine :-)

    nancy said: Yes…do be careful and alert. All kind of species of drivers on the road!

    The hustler….hahaha, guess la :P

    Comment by meiyen1990 | 15 January, 2009 | Reply

  7. I don’t like to drive woh…
    I wish for someone to drive me around for life hahaha…

    nancy said: Me too!…me too!… :) but then…

    Comment by ensl | 20 January, 2009 | Reply

  8. I know of someone who calls his mum ‘hustler’….ha ha ha…What Michelle said is true…on highways average speed 140km….n some car drivers will invite you to race with them leh…so many cars definately flying at more than 160km on highways…yr friend ‘Speedy Gonzales’ who is trying to slow down….

    nancy said: Tsk tsk…must not, must ‘try’ to keep to speed limit :)

    Comment by blossomteoh | 21 January, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

