Days of Grace

Second Post

Err, I don’t think I can continue using post titles like second post, third post …. and so on right? 😛   I wonder if anyone has actually done this?!

Anyway, what can I write about in my second post.  The reason why I started this blog I guess.  I have been going through a rough time and being the emotional person I am, hurtful and painful thoughts keep churning in my head and because I am aware of that I have to put up a smile and look fine around friends and people.  Aren’t that what most of us will do?

For us Christians, we have the greatest advantage over others because we have Him.  Then why are my thoughts so scrambled?  Didn’t I lay my burdens at the foot of the cross over and over again, and of course as long as I have breath I will repeatedly do that till….He decides when I should be with Him. At times, it seemed like I enjoy basking in the pain and grasping it so tightly to my chest when all I have to do is go to Him.  He comforts…every tear we cry are precious to His eyes.

As a parent, I worry all the time for my children, especially in their walk with God.  Friends told me that I am not responsible for their spiritual life when they are already in late teens and into young adulthood. Somehow my head can’t comprehend that and there is that nagging thought all the time that I have not done well and have failed.

Until…..early last month at the last Festival of Praise in Singapore, I was there at the second night.  The usual stuff that Festival of Praise delivers year after year were Popular Bands and this time around it was the Parachute Band from New Zealand and Australian Rueben Morgan and team.  Message was delivered by a Rev. Mike Connor from Australia…..message was good with impressive illustrations but me being me, no taking down notes means can’t really remember. But but at the very end after closing his message with a prayer, Rev. Mike was led to pray for parents who are hurt or burdened or felt responsible for the lack of desire in their children’s spiritual life.  That hit me!!! It was like a split arrow….to my heart and head, right on targets.  I knew the prayer was for me and many parents amongst the thousands that filled the Singapore Indoor Stadium that night.

For reasons, I can’t divulge I held back my hand and tears as much as I could but my eyes just welled up.  A dear friend reminded me some days later that God had spoken through Rev. Mike and that He knows my heart and my struggles. Isn’t God amazing!! Yes, I finally was able to really lay that baggage down but never cease praying.  After all that has been written, I may be over anxious and children may be doing alright! They should know that God knows their heart right?

If you are a parent or someone who is going through this same struggle, my prayer and hope that in reading this post will help you cut loose from the chains that bind you to that baggage.

7 September, 2008 - Posted by | Thoughts | ,

7 Comments »

  1. i’m no parent yet…. But if i ever have to face this issue then perhaps i should come back to this post???

    nancy said:
    always welcome for revisitation ok? (even after i stop writing) 🙂

    p/s Wow!! you published so many posts in one night/morning!!!

    Comment by Walltalker | 7 September, 2008 | Reply

  2. Hi,
    i’m also no parent yet but i guess it feels the same seeing any younger ones in their walk of spiritual life. though i’m not directly involved in the youth, but i do feel glad and proud when i see them grow in the Lord and of course otherwise if the opposite happens. i guess the best we can do is to guide them and pray for them, and perhaps be an example to them.

    Good job on the second post haha. =)

    nancy said:
    thanks siew lee, trying hard.

    Comment by ensl | 7 September, 2008 | Reply

  3. Great second post. Likewise, despite most of us reading being no parent, I feel the same way siew lee feels. Its just amazing to see one of the youth have an encounter with God and choose to follow him. And not only the youth, but children as well!

    nancy said:
    yup, children as well. thanks for your comment.

    Comment by Alexandra | 7 September, 2008 | Reply

  4. I’ve actually seen someone put numbers on their blog title, like post 1, post 2… now it’s up to post 24 haha.

    I think as a parent, all you can do now is to pray. You have done your job as a parent teaching them in the ways of the Jedi God.

    Now it is up to them to live their lives, to make decisions and the right choices.

    Don’t worry, God is faithful!

    nancy said:
    Oh, someone really titled their post in number ah? I thought it wouldn’t be the norm but that doesn’t matter, i mean it’s a personal blog and reflects one’s preference.

    haha, you are really into the Star Wars thing!

    That burden has finally been lifted (though still worry sometimes) and yes i never cease praying for them. God is faithful, Amen.

    Comment by Adino | 8 September, 2008 | Reply

  5. As a parents, we can only pray for our children and trust God to draw them to Him…God is Able and Faithful!…and He has got a Plan for each one of our children….
    will be praying with you for them.

    nancy said:
    Thank you and Amen.

    Comment by blossomteoh | 8 September, 2008 | Reply

  6. Kudos! humans reaching a certain maturity should be responsible for their actions and the decision they make and made. It is their life afterall. As parents our children are always children to us, i’m sure your children feels your unspoken love and worry. It will definetely help them to think twice before making decisions in their life. Till the end all human are equals. Servants. Do not worry much,my dear frustrated one. The one above us is watching.

    nancy said: Hi Robert! Welcome to my blog! Thank you for your kind words and encouragement, very much appreciated. There is no doubt that He is watches over us all the time! 🙂

    Comment by RobertFrost | 17 September, 2008 | Reply

  7. Robert Frost, that was so well said. Bravo Bravo! I couldn’t have said it better. Dear Nancy, Take Courage that you will never be forsaken. He will carry you 🙂

    nancy said: Thank you too Leon, for the comforting words and reminder.

    Comment by Leon | 18 September, 2008 | Reply


Leave a comment